“The Irascibles”

“The Irascibles” protest their exclusion from a New York exhibition in 1950.

Back row: Willem de Kooning, Adolph Gottlieb, Ad Reinhardt, and Hedda Sterne.

Middle row: Richard Pousette-Dart, William Baziotes, Jackson Pollock, Clyfford Still, Robert Motherwell, and Bradley Walker Tomlin.

Front row: Theodoros Stamos, Jimmy Ernst, Barnett Newman, James Brooks, and Mark Rothko.

—Photographed by Nina Leen

No comments:

Post a Comment